Committees and Political Balance

	Councillor nominations from:					
	Conservative Group	District Support Group	Liberal Democrat Group	Maldon Independent Group	Non-Aligned	Non-Members
Performance, Governance and Audit Committee (10)	N R Miller R G Pratt M E Thompson	W Stamp, CC J C Stilts	S J Burwood N D Spenceley	M G Bassenger N G F Shaughnessy	One Member (Appointment of the Council)	-
Strategy and Resources Committee (11)	D O Bown M F L Durham, CC M E Thompson	A S Fluker W Stamp	J Driver K Jennings	T Fittock R H Siddall	Two Members (Appointment of the Council)	-
Overview and Scrutiny Committee (10) (including Overview and Scrutiny Committee meeting as the Crime and Disorder Committee)	S J N Morgan C P Morley L L Wiffen	L J Haywood M G Neall	P L Spenceley N J Swindle	J C Hughes E L Stephens	One Member (Appointment of the Council)	

		Councillor nominations from:						
	Conservative Group	District Support Group	Liberal Democrat Group	Maldon Independent Group	Non-Aligned	Non-Members		
Joint Standards Committee (8 plus 3 non- members)	W J Laybourn M E Thompson L L Wiffen	M G Neall	S J Burwood	M G Bassenger	One Member (Appointment of the Council) * PLUS one member from either Liberal Democrat, Maldon Support or Maldon Independent Groups	Independent Person – J Mitchell Two Parish / Town Councillors to be appointed from the following nominees: Steven Bardwell Peter Allen Davey Michael John Hall Lester Magness Stephen Stratton (Members, please note email sent on 6 June 2023 for nominee profiles)		
Investigating and Disciplinary Committee (5)	M E Thompson	M G Neall	N J Swindle	E L Stephens	One Member (Appointment of the Council)	-		
Investigating and Disciplinary Panel	D O Bown W J Laybourn S J N Morgan	L J Haywood J C Stilts	K Jennings N D Spenceley	N G F Shaughnessy R H Siddall	One Member (Appointment of the Council)	-		
(pool of 10)*	*Minimum of five Members of the Council – politically balanced – of which three have not served on the initial investigation carried out by the Investigating and Disciplinary Committee. In addition, two or three Independent Persons appointed by the Council to assist the Joint Standards Committee under the Localism Act 2011.							

APPOINTMENTS BOARD (6):

Conservative Group	District Support Group	Liberal Democrat Group	Maldon Independent Group	Non-Aligned		
Councillors to be appointed following confirmation of all other Committee Membership, including Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson, taking						
into consideration the following.						

Appointments Board Membership:

- Leader of the Council (or Deputy)
- Opposition Leader (or Deputy)
- Chairperson (or Vice-Chairperson) of the Strategy and Resources Committee
- Chairperson (or Vice-Chairperson) of the Performance, Governance and Audit Committee
- PLUS two other named Members appointed by the Council (political balance provisions shall apply).